Haitian Roundtable Unveils 1804 List of Changemakers for 2015

hrt_honorees_FINAL(2)The Haitian Roundtable has disclosed the selections for its 1804 List, recognizing Haitian-Americans in the United States who have demonstrated outstanding achievement and success in their profession, proven themselves to be forces for change in their communities, and who have helped to create a better understanding of Haiti and the Haitian community.

The 1804 List, named in honor of Haiti’s year of independence, also recognizes outstanding Haitian-Americans as “Ones To Watch”, representing our community’s innovators and rising stars from a wide range of industries and backgrounds.

The 1804 List of 25 Haitian-American Changemakers and Ones To Watch for 2015 includes: an award winning broadcast journalist, best-selling authors, a filmmaker nominated for an NAACP Image Award, the first Haitian-American family to host a U.S. president, a mayor, Washington D.C.’s first elected attorney general, a federal district judge, a New York City commissioner, a cable executive, a renowned academic, as well as philanthropists and innovative entrepreneurs.

A Recognition Ceremony and Reception will be held on Saturday, March 21, 2014, from 6:000PM to 10:00PM in New York City. Ticket sales will begin soon. The 1804 List continues a worthwhile tradition of showcasing the best in the Haitian community to the world. We look forward to seeing you!



Sandra M. Altiné, Managing Director, Global Diversity & Inclusion, Moody’s

Gabrielle Armand, Vice President, Brand & Audience Development, Jazz at Lincoln Center

Magalie D. Austin and Jean-Philippe Austin, Civic Leaders and Philanthropists

Marvin Bienaimé, Owner & Director, Bienaimé Agency & Founder, Smile for Haiti

Hon. André Birotte, Jr., Federal District Judge, U.S. District Court, Central District of California

Kedma Pognon Brown, Vice President & Director, Integrated Production and National Lead, Diversity & Inclusion, Saatchi & Saatchi New York

Pascal Desroches, Executive Vice President and CFO, Turner Broadcasting Inc.

Micheline Dole, President, New York Chapter of the Association of Haitian Physicians Abroad (AMHE)

Roxane Gay, Best-selling author and Purdue University professor

Marlie Hall, Award-winning broadcast journalist, CBS Newspath

Nicole Hollant-Denis, Principal & Co-Owner Aarris Atepa Architects

Hon. Lionel Jean-Baptiste, Judge, Cook County Circuit Court, Illinois

Peniel Joseph, Award Winning Author, Founding Director, Center for the Study of Race and Democracy & Professor of History, Tufts University

Hon. Harry LaRosiliere, Mayor of Plano, Texas

Cherlie Magny-Normilus, Professor of Nursing & Director of Policy & Advocacy, Regis College School of Nursing Science and Health Professions Haiti Project

Elsy Mecklembourg-Guibert, Founder, EMG Health Communications

Edvrard Pharel, Clinical Psychologist

Hon. Karl Racine, Attorney General, District of Columbia

Gary D. Rodney, President, NYC Housing Development Corporation

Mitchell J. Silver, Commissioner, NYC Department of Parks and Recreation

Joanne N. Smith, Founder and Executive Director, Girls for Gender Equity

Michèle Stephenson, Producer and Director, Rada Film Group

Farah Tanis, Founder & Executive Director, Black Women’s Blueprint

Louise Lorraine Voltaire, Vice President, Haitian-American Association and Allied Florida



Fabrice Armand, Vice President, Business Development & Marketing for G Caribbean Magazine

Robert Constant and Gladymir Leveille, Co-Founders & Creative Directors, Dnalsi

Hon. Kimberly Jean-Pierre, New York State Assembly, 11th District

Vanessa Leon, Principal, Pinchina Consulting